≡ Menu

Foods that Harm Foods that Heal Review & Giveaway

foods-that-harm-foods-that-heal

 There were a couple of reasons I jumped on the chance to review the fully revised and updated Foods that Harm Foods that Health book and they don’t even include the fact that it’s from one of my trusted publishers – Reader’s Digest.

First, I wanted to learn more about foods that aren’t currently in my diet but maybe should be.  It’s also important to understand why foods aren’t good for me and I should either eliminate or cut back on.

About Foods that Harm Foods that Heal

If you were one of the seven million who have a copy of the first edition, it’s time to get the new updated version. This book is 389 pages of valuable information divided into three parts.  The first part is Nutrition and includes information on how carbohydrates, fats, proteins and more can harm and heal.  Then it moves to food safety and how to eat for health.

The second part is an A to Z guide about nearly 150 specific foods. I cooked with spinach for the first time this week and learned that  1/2 cup of cooked spinach provides 100% of the Vitamin A needed in a day.

The last part is Ailments and details what foods harm and heal specific conditions ranging from Acne to Yeast Infections. There are over 90 conditions included.

You can get this book at most book retailers including Amazon (affiliate link).

My Thoughts  About Foods that Harm Foods that Heal

This book is going to be a resource for me for many years.  My favorite part is the Foods guide.  Each food lists suggestions for how to eat the food, what to look for when buying and how to store it in addition to the health risks and benefits.’

foodsthatharmold

I also like the informative sidebars which point out the “old school” thought and the new knowledge.  One example is that it was once thought a person should avoid squid and shrimp because of the high cholesterol levels.  Now it’s known that the shellfish cholesterol has little effects on blood levels in people.

Foods that Harm Foods that Heal Giveaway

Thanks to the generosity of the publisher a Weight Chronicles reader will receive a copy of Foods that Harm Foods that Heal.  Entrants in the giveaway must be 18 years of age or older and have a US mailing address.

Use the rafflecopter form below to enter and good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclosure: I was provided a copy of the book for review purposes. All opinions expressed are 100% mine.

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • Midlife Finance March 29, 2013, 9:15 am

    We eat way too much carb. It would be nice to increase healthy carb and reduce simple carb. We don’t eat much white rice anymore so at least that’s one positive step.
    Midlife Finance´s last blog post ..Carnival of Retirement – 63rd EditionMy Profile

  • Jennifer Holovack March 29, 2013, 1:44 pm

    It is a constant mission and passion for me to learn about food. I am always researching food, how to be healthier, what to eat, what not to eat…this book looks perfect!

  • Gigi March 29, 2013, 8:33 pm

    I’m trying to get my keister in shape. I’m losing weight but certain foods remain elusive in my attempts to quit them….additionally, I am caregiver for my elderly father and I could also use this to guide me in good foods to help him heal.

  • Kelly Blackwell March 29, 2013, 10:23 pm

    I would love this book because when I discovered that I had hypothyroidism, I started to learn that there were foods that actually made the condition worse. Some of those foods were favorites of mine. Being informed is so important to me now.
    Kelly Blackwell´s last blog post ..Checking In On My 5/2 DietMy Profile

  • Anne March 30, 2013, 8:57 am

    Like so many other people, I have health issues. I often wonder if I’m exacerbating them with my food choices. I also wonder if I’m getting the most out of the foods I eat. This book would help me understand these things better. Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

  • Sonya March 30, 2013, 9:18 am

    it sounds like an interesting book

  • Nancy March 30, 2013, 8:33 pm

    I’d like to learn more abut healthy eating!

  • Kathleen March 31, 2013, 2:13 am

    I have a lot of food allergies. Some I never even knew about. I also am trying to lose some weight, although it seems to be harder right now than ever before. I’m not sure why. Maybe because I am older? Anyway, I just think the information in this book will really be beneficial to me and my family. Thank you for offering this giveaway!

  • Francine Anchondo March 31, 2013, 12:39 pm

    to be more healthy and learn about new foods

  • Brenda L. March 31, 2013, 3:30 pm

    With so much contradicting information out there, it’s great to have a book like this to refer to!

  • carolyn G March 31, 2013, 3:58 pm

    I am trying to eat better

  • Trish F April 1, 2013, 11:57 am

    I’m trying to learn everything I can about health as my health is poor. I have come to the realization that our food supply is also poor quality, so I would love to learn more about what is good and what is bad. Thanks for a great giveaway!

  • Vera K April 2, 2013, 5:06 am

    I would love to win this book. This is right down my alley – a huge interest of mine.

  • Vunda V April 2, 2013, 8:36 am

    i would give this as a gift to my mom, she loves learning more about foods and healthy lviing

  • Lauren April 2, 2013, 10:54 pm

    I just found out I have a gluten allergy this year, which has made me a lot more conscious of the foods I eat. I’ve heard of this book and I would love to get to read it to discover more about the foods I eat. When you go your whole life fighting a battle with food that you had no idea you were even fighting, it makes you concerned about what else you’ve been missing.

  • Pary Moppins April 3, 2013, 9:05 am

    I love using books like this one for reference.
    Pary Moppins´s last blog post ..Menu Plan – Week 14My Profile

  • Shelia S April 4, 2013, 2:40 pm

    I would love to know the foods that harm us. This would help all members of my family. I would love to have a reference book to go to.

  • Daniel M April 4, 2013, 6:50 pm

    want to eat healthier

  • Laura April 5, 2013, 7:29 am

    I love learning about what foods are healthy and trying new foods!

  • Deb April 5, 2013, 9:00 am

    I want to learn more about nutrition so I can help my family live a healthy life.

  • Heather S. April 5, 2013, 1:30 pm

    I’d love to win to learn more about foods.
    hschonrock at yahoo dot com

  • Karen April 7, 2013, 1:56 pm

    I’m all about learning more about foods and eating right. I’d love to read this book!

  • Melissa April 7, 2013, 3:30 pm

    This sounds like a great read!

  • Gianna April 7, 2013, 4:39 pm

    To read something new.

  • Kelly D April 8, 2013, 7:46 am

    I have been trying to eat healthier, so this would be interesting.

  • Theresa April 8, 2013, 8:09 am

    I want this so I can be more concious about what I”m eating!

  • Allison April 8, 2013, 11:46 am

    This would be helpful

  • Allison April 8, 2013, 11:46 am

    This would be helpful for sure